Browse committees


Dates of meetings for the Cabinet.


Information about Cabinet

At Epping Forest District Council, the Leader of Council leads the council with the support of the Cabinet, appointed by the Leader to manage a portfolio of services.


The Cabinet (also known as the Executive) is made up of 10 councillors. It makes many of the decisions relating to how Epping Forest District Council is run, working within its financial and policy guidelines.


The Cabinet is the Council’s main decision-making body and is responsible for strategic policy-making and budget setting. Routine decisions are taken by individual Cabinet Members acting under their delegated powers, rather than at Cabinet meetings.



Portfolio Holder 2020/2021


Councillor Chris Whitbread

Deputy Leader & Place

Councillor Nigel Bedford

Internal Resources

Councillor Sam Kane

Wellbeing & Community Partnership

Councillor Aniket Patel

Contract & Commissioning

Councillor Nigel Avey


Councillor John Philip

Housing & Community

Councillor Holly Whitbread


Councillor Alan Lion

Review & Efficiency

Councillor Les Burrows

Technical Services

Councillor Ken Williamson


More information on the responsibilities of the Cabinet can be found in the council’s constitution under Portfolio Holder Responsibilities.