Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet (sometimes referred to as the Executive) makes many of the decisions relating to how the Council is run. It must work within the financial and policy guideline (or framework) set by the Council. Within that framework it determines the business of the Council. This is done either by meeting together as a group (the Cabinet) or individually (by a Portfolio Holder).


These Portfolio Holders make up the members of the Cabinet. The current (from  May 2019) Portfolios of the Council and post holders are:


Portfolio Title

Portfolio Holder 2019/20


Councillor C. Whitbread

Strategic Projects

Councillor A. Lion

Business Support Services

Councillor S. Stavrou

Contract and Technical Services

Councillor N. Avey

Commercial and Regulatory Services

Councillor A. Patel

Community and Partnership Services

Councillor N. Bedford

Customer Services

Councillor S. Kane

Housing and Property Services

Councillor H. Whitbread

Planning Services

Councillor J. Philip


More information on the responsibilities of the Cabinet can be found in the Council’s Constitution (Responsibility for Functions).


Contact information

Support officer: A. Hendry (Democratic Services). Tel: (01992) 564246 Email:

Postal address:
Civic Offices
High Street
CM16 4BZ

Phone: 01992 564470

Fax: 01992 564488